Brown-Nichols Science Award

The Brown-Nichols Science Award was established in 2008 in honor of the significant contributions of Dr. Randall Brown and Dr. Frederic Nichols. Each made substantive contributions to science through research, by facilitating good science by others, and by communicating science to managers and policy makers in the San Francisco Estuary and watershed. Together they laid the foundations for the first Bay-Delta Science Conference.

The award is given biennially to recognize the contributions of a scientist for significant research and active involvement in facilitating the use of science to manage the San Francisco Estuary and watershed. The next award recipient will be announced at the 2014 Bay-Delta Science Conference.

Deadline for 2014 nomination packages: July 11, 2014

View the Brown-Nichols Science Award nomination information.






Jim Cloern and Wim Kimmerer
Dr Jim Cloern and Dr Wim Kimmerer at the 2012 Bay-Delta Science Conference

The Selection Committee for the Brown-Nichols Science Award unanimously decided to make two awards in 2012. The 2012 recipients were Jim Cloern and Wim Kimmerer. These two awardees have combined to make the most extensive contributions to the peer-reviewed Bay-Delta literature. Their contributions have been very different but have combined to shape much of our current understanding of the Bay-Delta ecosystem that agencies are relying on to make decisions. They have exhibited exemplary collaboration, collegiality and mentorship for the next generation of scientists in agencies and academia. It is therefore very fitting that these two internationally recognized scientists who have dedicated much of their careers to the San Francisco Bay Delta system were honored together by their peers. Drs. Cloern and Kimmerer were presented with their awards at 7th Biennial Bay-Delta Science Conference in Sacramento.

Read more about Jim Cloern and Wim Kimmerer as well as other recipients of the Brown-Nichols Science Award.